top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureDavid Vorhees

Laughing, Laughing, Laughing

Updated: Nov 22, 2023

Thunder echoes outside the window pane.

The world drowning in sleeting rain.

I sit by the fire contemplating my life.

One full of agony, despair, and strife.

The memories of days gone bye

a movie that plays in my mind's eye.

Her beautiful face appears before me.

I turn in shame, I cannot face thee.

Mother Mary full of grace,

As she fights death's cold embrace.

In agony she takes her final breath.

Sweet release she crosses into death.

Shameful memory rising.

A sin of my own undertaking .

That sin doubles and doubles

Until all I have built is a mound of rubble.

Death after death so discrete

A pile of corpses under my very own feet.

A year ago this very day.

A year ago stolen away.

My own hand the culprit of deceit.

I still see her falling below to the street.

Fire raging in my hearth,

A stain I left upon this earth.

Suffering is all I ever bring.

Pain consumes my darkened reign.

I wait in agony for my mind to decompose.

I beg forgiveness, Lord help my poor soul.

The pain of her memory leaves me yearning.

Like the log in a fire, my soul is burning.

In the echo of shadows I hear her call my name.

My heart bursts like a roaring flame.

Her voice incites pure dread,

I can’t get her voice out of my head.

“Come to me, my love.” She repeats.

All the while the rain still sleets.

“forgive me, I beg” into the darkness.

Her voice comes with an edge of sharpness.

"It was an accident” I try to justify,

“I never meant any harm” a bold lie.

In my heart I wanted her to die.

In her death, I believed me free.

In her death, I am chained for eternity.

Chains made of grief, sorrow, and guilt.

Made in the forge of hate that I had built.

Dear God let her punishment be no more,

Smite me dead upon this very floor.

On my knees I beg of thee.

Break my Chains and set me free.

I confess, I took her life.

It was I who killed my beloved wife.

A deadly accident I did say.

One I set up that cold, dark day.

Weakened bolts on a balcony high.

I admit my guilt as the rain begins to die.

I sit upon a midnight clear,

Guilt glaring back at me from the mirror.

My sin I can no longer hide,

The role I played in the way she died.

The fire dies as darkness fills the room.

I feel the icy touch of doom.

I feel her presence all around me.

"Off to hell,” she whispers softly.

I hear her as I lay dying.

I hear her laughing, laughing, laughing.


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page