top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureDavid Vorhees

Eos and Nyx

The wind courses through his dark feathers as he glides through cool air. He loves this time of night. The sun has just retreated behind the horizon, but there is still a thin veil of light left in the sky. This is when he feels truly alive.

He lands in the tree above a white house. On the window sill sat another bird, a white dove. His friend, his love. “Hello Nyx, my love.” The white dove said as Nyx flew to meet her.

“Eos, my dear.” Nyx said. The main reason he loves the brief moment between day and night is this is the only time he gets to spend with her. “I cherish the segment, but I fear they may end soon.”

“What brings about this fear Nyx?” Eos said.

“I fear I am dying, that I am immortal no more.” Nyx said.

“How can that be?” Eos said looking at him with worry, “you are the night. You are the Raven in Poe’s dream. Without you night will cease to exist.”

“The last night I flew, I stopped . I wanted to see if the night would stop with me and it did not. It continued on as if I was not responsible for its growth. It continued without me. I felt afraid, I felt as if I was no longer needed. The only conclusion is I am dying, that I am immortal no more.” Nyx said.

“This cannot be true, my love.” Eos Said, “If you had lost your immortality, then you would just be another Raven, roaming the fields for corn and mice, but you are still Nyx, the night bringer. Maybe you have brought the night every night for an eternity that it now knows the way all by itself.”

“Maybe you are right my love.” Nyx said hopefully. “Maybe this means I am no longer needed and I am now free. Maybe we both are free and we can finally be together for the rest of eternity .”

The two birds, one a dark raven and the other a white looked into each others eyes and flew off into the growing darkness together to spend eternity with each other .


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page